Three Main Parables [2/3]

If you havent already, please go back and read the first part.

Luke 15

The Parable of the Lost Sheep

1Now the tax collectors and “sinners” were all gathering around to hear him.

2But the Pharisees and the teachers of the law muttered, “This man welcomes sinners and eats with them.”

3Then Jesus told them this parable:

4″Suppose one of you has a hundred sheep and loses one of them. Does he not leave the ninety-nine in the open country and go after the lost sheep until he finds it?

5And when he finds it, he joyfully puts it on his shoulders

6and goes home. Then he calls his friends and neighbors together and says, ‘Rejoice with me; I have found my lost sheep.’

7I tell you that in the same way there will be more rejoicing in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine righteous persons who do not need to repent.

This is in line with scripture.

Ezekiel 34

11 ” ‘For this is what the Sovereign LORD says: I myself will search for my sheep and look after them.

12 As a shepherd looks after his scattered flock when he is with them, so will I look after my sheep. I will rescue them from all the places where they were scattered on a day of clouds and darkness.

13 I will bring them out from the nations and gather them from the countries, and I will bring them into their own land. I will pasture them on the mountains of Israel, in the ravines and in all the settlements in the land.

14 I will tend them in a good pasture, and the mountain heights of Israel will be their grazing land. There they will lie down in good grazing land, and there they will feed in a rich pasture on the mountains of Israel.

15 I myself will tend my sheep and have them lie down, declares the Sovereign LORD.

16 I will search for the lost and bring back the strays. I will bind up the injured and strengthen the weak, but the sleek and the strong I will destroy. I will shepherd the flock with justice.

Scripture describes why this was necessary and this was repeated by Yahuwshua.

Ezekiel 34

Shepherds and Sheep

1 The word of the LORD came to me:

2 “Son of man, prophesy against the shepherds of Israel; prophesy and say to them: ‘This is what the Sovereign LORD says: Woe to the shepherds of Israel who only take care of themselves! Should not shepherds take care of the flock?

3 You eat the curds, clothe yourselves with the wool and slaughter the choice animals, but you do not take care of the flock.

4 You have not strengthened the weak or healed the sick or bound up the injured. You have not brought back the strays or searched for the lost. You have ruled them harshly and brutally.

5 So they were scattered because there was no shepherd, and when they were scattered they became food for all the wild animals.

6 My sheep wandered over all the mountains and on every high hill. They were scattered over the whole earth, and no one searched or looked for them.

7 ” ‘Therefore, you shepherds, hear the word of the LORD :

8 As surely as I live, declares the Sovereign LORD, because my flock lacks a shepherd and so has been plundered and has become food for all the wild animals, and because my shepherds did not search for my flock but cared for themselves rather than for my flock,

9 therefore, O shepherds, hear the word of the LORD :

10 This is what the Sovereign LORD says: I am against the shepherds and will hold them accountable for my flock. I will remove them from tending the flock so that the shepherds can no longer feed themselves. I will rescue my flock from their mouths, and it will no longer be food for them.

He also mentions the misbehaviour of the flock. How they are invited to peace and freedom in the comfort of the Lord yet they ‘walk all over his guide/will’. They are told by Yahuwshua to love each other but what do they do? They hold hatred in their hearts. They are told to help one another yet they look out only for themselves. They are told not to judge others, but yet they love to gossip and bring people down. They believe Yahuvahs grace will cover them yet they are not graciously accepting what they need to do to please him. Don’t think that by simply going to Church that you are following him because that is not all. I used to b taken to church as a child but not really understanding why. I stopped when i was 6 years old and since then i’ve been i believe less than 10 times. I’m sure when people hear that i don’t go to church they think that i must not know much, or that in some way my life is incomplete. A lot of people go to church but then go home and do the exact opposite of what they’re supposed to do. I’m not judging them but i’m saying that there is more to spirituality than just entering a building and hearing a few words. Its about daily meditation on the word, being aided in our understanding by the holy spirit, being guided to the truth and living our lives accordingly. Being nourished by the good word should be all we need. How can we be nourished with its goodness whilst at the same time disrespecting it by doing our own thing thats in violation of it.When we say we are Christians we are a representation of Christ, we ar his image on Earth. Can you honestly say that through your actions, a non-believer will think ‘wow, whats this Christianity all about, i want to know more?’ ? That is the whole point isn’t it, to help others rather than helping ourselves? We have people on TV stating their faith and they are representing you and I. When they decide to do all kinds of immoral things, its as if saying that that is allowed and acceptable, that is what ‘Christians do’. They may perhaps flaunt they’re money saying how much they have, they’re all about wearing the latest fashion, buying the most expensive things as if thats what life is about. Even if people arent that ignorant to think all are the same, it still means that Christianity wouldnt be taken as seriously, they may see it as a ‘thing to do’ i.e. a label that someone has given to themselves with no significance. This is feeding them with our iniquities and shortfalls. Sure we may know the gospel but not all do. Sure we may be nourishing ourselves but what about the rest? We must give to ‘the poor’.

Some may say ‘i go to church everyday, you dont know how much i read the bible or pray to God, dont judge me’. If they were truly honest with themselves, they’d realise that some things that they were doing are not of Gods will and they’d know that they were going against him by e.g. singing a song about what they want a guy/girl to do with their bodies, what they’d like to do to a guy/girl; getting near naked in videos… Ok i’m talking more about celebrities here, some are so confused, and then to top it all off when they win awards they thank God for getting them there, would God seriously exalt them so they can pass on that sort of message? I doubt it, but of course people wanting to live their way will strongly deny theyre doing anything wrong since ‘they read the bible, go to church and are good people’ and will think that we’re the bad ones trying to rain on they’re parade. The following verses of Ezekiel say:

17 ” ‘As for you, my flock, this is what the Sovereign LORD says: I will judge between one sheep and another, and between rams and goats.

18 Is it not enough for you to feed on the good pasture? Must you also trample the rest of your pasture with your feet? Is it not enough for you to drink clear water? Must you also muddy the rest with your feet?

19 Must my flock feed on what you have trampled and drink what you have muddied with your feet?

This prophecy was written for the Jews at the time, but equally applies to us Christians. The following verses:

20 ” ‘Therefore this is what the Sovereign LORD says to them: See, I myself will judge between the fat sheep and the lean sheep.

21 Because you shove with flank and shoulder, butting all the weak sheep with your horns until you have driven them away,

22 I will save my flock, and they will no longer be plundered. I will judge between one sheep and another.

23 I will place over them one shepherd, my servant David, and he will tend them; he will tend them and be their shepherd.

24 I the LORD will be their God, and my servant David will be prince among them. I the LORD have spoken.

25 ” ‘I will make a covenant of peace with them and rid the land of wild beasts so that they may live in the desert and sleep in the forests in safety.

26 I will bless them and the places surrounding my hill.  I will send down showers in season; there will be showers of blessing.

27The trees of the field will yield their fruit and the ground will yield its crops; the people will be secure in their land. They will know that I am the LORD, when I break the bars of their yoke and rescue them from the hands of those who enslaved them.

28 They will no longer be plundered by the nations, nor will wild animals devour them. They will live in safety, and no one will make them afraid.

29 I will provide for them a land renowned for its crops, and they will no longer be victims of famine in the land or bear the scorn of the nations.

30 Then they will know that I, the LORD their God, am with them and that they, the house of Israel, are my people, declares the Sovereign LORD.

31 You my sheep, the sheep of my pasture, are people, and I am your God, declares the Sovereign LORD.’ “

Many will be surprised when perhaps Yahuvah approves of the non-religious good people who are lost yet still live a commendable life versus the so called ‘saved’ Christians who are against many things that Yahuwshua taught. I’m not saying anyone is going to ‘hell’ or that the non-religious dont need Yahuwshua. I’m simply saying that people should pay more attention to the word, stop looking over things you know you should be/should not be doing, have some integrity and show honour to the whole truth of the bible, not the parts that you like.

As for the people who are trying really hard to live a Godly life, just keep trying even though it is hard. He sees how hard you are trying and is overjoyed  that you are trying. He will strengthen you daily and you will get to being the person you want to be in his eyes.

4 Responses to Three Main Parables [2/3]

  1. Pingback: The Trilogy of Our Repentance [1/3] « Unearthing the Hebrew 'Dvar-Elohim'!

  2. Pingback: Three Main Parables [3/3] « Unearthing the Hebrew 'Dvar-Elohim'!

  3. Pingback: Word of the Day – Sin, Righteousness « Unearthing the Hebrew 'Dvar-Elohim'!

  4. Pingback: Representatives on Earth « Unearthing the Hebrew 'Dvar-Elohim'!

Leave a Reply

